Nursing homes have been under fire for discharging residents for financial reasons, and without affording them at least 30 days notice, as is required by law. Check out this recent article from my original home town of San Jose, California: http://abc7news.com/exclusive-...

To make matters worse, predators have seized on this reality, and have convinced elderly residents to live in “assisted living facilities” which are not licensed by the State of Florida. In a recent case, a nursing home resident was discharged from a nursing home with less than 5 days notice, put in a car of an “ALF” owner, driven to the bank, and convinced to take out thousands of dollars in cash to pay the “ALF” owner.  The “ALF” was not licensed.  In fact, it was simply a residential home.  And the unsuspecting resident, after having been neglected at the “ALF” for over a week, was taken to a local hospital with a life-threatening infection.

As a reminder, if you want to verify whether an ALF is, in fact, licensed, you can check out the AHCA website for this information: http://ahca.myflorida.com/